Six Star Wars Films, and Six Reasons to Own Them All on Xbox

Today is a big deal for “Star Wars” fans, as all six epic films in Lucasfilm’s beloved space opera – from “Star Wars: The Phantom Menace” all the way to “Star Wars: Return of the Jedi” – are available digitally for the first time ever. Xbox is proud to offer this classic science-fiction saga for purchase, and we hope that you already have plenty of reasons for wanting to own all six films. And if not, here’s just one reason why every “Star Wars” film is a monumentally big deal – you know, aside from the Xbox Live freebies that come when you purchase the Star Wars Digital Movie Collection on Xbox Video.

Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (1999)

Two words: Darth Maul. Short of awesomely cool bad guys (since, you know, Darth Vader and Boba Fett weren’t really around at the time that the prequel trilogy began), Lucasfilm created an all-new Sith villain for everyone to love (and love to hate), and that was the beastly, spiky-faced, dual-lightsaber-wielding Darth Maul. It’s a bummer that he only lasted for one film, but he definitely left an impression with the “Star Wars” fandom – so much so, that he’s alive and kicking again in the “Clone Wars” animated series!

Star Wars: Attack of the Clones (2002)

We only got a few brief allusions to the Clone Wars in the classic “Star Wars” trilogy, but it was always framed as a seriously important, and seriously epic, part of the galaxy’s history. “Attack of the Clones” is the film that lays the groundwork for this monumental war, which would then carry into its own full-fledged, multi-season animated series. But here, we get to see how the clone army was created, what it meant to the Republic, and how it formed the foundation for the Imperial Stormtroopers that were so ubiquitous in the classic trilogy.

Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith (2005)

And, as if things couldn’t get any darker in the “Star Wars” prequel trilogy, this chapter puts everyone at their lowest possible point. The Jedi are defeated, the Galactic Empire rises to power, and Darth Vader is firmly placed on the road to ultimate silver screen villainy. It’s a very bleak chapter of the “Star Wars” saga, and it sets the stage for the classic trilogy that we all love so much.

Star Wars: A New Hope (1977)

It goes without saying that “A New Hope” was a big deal, because it introduced us to all of our favorite characters – notably farm boy Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia Organa, dashing rogue Han Solo, and villain-to-end-all-villains Darth Vader. This is “Star Wars” at its purest.

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

What reason is there to not love “The Empire Strikes Back,” you may ask? The answer is: none. None whatsoever. Every moment, every scene, every line of dialogue conspires to create what is absolutely the greatest film in the series, if not the greatest sci-fi adventure ever created. Also, Yoda. Freaking Yoda.

Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (1983)

A lot of people out there like to pretend that they’re too cool or too grown-up or whatever for the Ewoks. But that’s because so few people realize that the Ewoks are secretly the most badass characters in the entire “Star Wars” saga. Remember when they were going to cook and eat Luke and friends? Remember when they defeated an entire battalion of Stormtroopers with rocks and wooden spears? Remember that celebration scene at the end, where they were using Stormtrooper heads for drums? Yeah, you do not mess with the Ewoks – and if that’s not awesome, we don’t know what is.

But that’s enough from us. Go and grab yourself a digital download of the “Star Wars” saga on Xbox Video today and the Force will be with you, always!