Women’s National Teams to Kick Some Balls in FIFA 16

The fall release of EA Sports’ FIFA 16 is fast approaching – and today, the publisher has announced a historic first for the beloved soccer franchise. This latest annual installment will feature the addition of a dozen Women’s National Teams to the roster. Women’s teams from Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, England, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, Sweden, and USA have all made the cut, and they will be playable across FIFA 16’s many modes, such as Kick Off and Online Friendly Matches.

Like the rest of FIFA 16, these top-ranked, world-class teams feature amazingly detailed likenesses, realistic animations, real-world-derived player attributes, and fluid player movements. The game’s motion capture was helped along with the support of four top players from the USA Women’s National Team: Sydney Leroux, Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, and Megan Rapinoe.

“Bringing some of the best women’s players and teams in the world to our franchise is a massive event for EA Sports, and we are equally excited about bringing millions of fans a new way to play,” said David Rutter, Vice President and General Manager, EA Sports FIFA. “We’re making sure fans get an authentic experience when playing with Women’s National Teams thanks to our innovative player capture and reference tools, as well as the sophisticated gameplay platform which we will continue to innovate on in FIFA 16.”

Check out the Women’s National Teams announcement trailer embedded above, and head to the official FIFA 16 website for more information on these new teams. You’ll officially be able to put foot to ball when FIFA 16 hits Xbox One and Xbox 360 this fall. Best of all, you can play it early with EA Access, only on Xbox One, for a limited time before the September 22 release date. Get ready to hit the pitch!