Marvel's Avengers - Red Room

The Red Room Takeover has begun in Marvel’s Avengers

Prepare for a conquering of crimson. The Red Room Takeover Event has initiated in Marvel’s Avengers and will last until May 31.

Agent James Woo has reported several anomalies within the HARM Room, linked to a computer virus that managed to make its way into the helicarrier’s system. The only thing he was able to decipher were cryptic messages addressed to Black Widow from her old friend Yelena Belova. The messages seem to be teasing, almost taunting, Natasha as if a twisted game were being played. Investigate these disturbances and find out what Yelena has in store for the Avengers.

New mission chains will be available during this event where players must enter five different hacked HARM Rooms, each with their own unique challenges and obstacles. These new HARM Rooms are tinged with red and include hazards that Yelena set up just to see if you can dodge them. In “the floor is lava” fashion, one of these hazards is techno lava, a pulsating surface that will immediately down an Avenger – or an enemy. The Red Room Takeover is single player only, scaled to different Power Levels, and you cannot bring your companions along with you to help. What fun would that be?

Marvel's Avengers - Red Room

Rewards for this event include an exclusive team nameplate, special gear, a unique comic set, and a substantial amount of XP.

Here are a few tips on how to survive the Red Room Takeover from Principal Designer Jason Botta:

  • Always. Be. Moving. – With large waves of enemies in small spaces, you’ll need to keep on your toes to stay out of harm’s way.
  • Utilize the ‘techno lava’ death pits – Positioning yourself correctly and utilizing the correct attacks to knock troublesome enemies off platforms to their deaths can be critical to surviving certain waves.
  • Use mobility and grapple focused characters for maximum enjoyment – You can get through them with anyone, but characters like Black Widow, Kate Bishop, Hawkeye, and Kamala can really flow through the spaces. Any character with a grapple can save you from poorly timed jumps.
  • But pay attention to the environments and which moves you’re using – Several heroes have moves that will translate them very far while in air, this can often lead to inadvertently landing in a death pit. Switch up tactics/moves in the air to avoid unfortunate deaths until you are really comfortable with the environments and can judge when you are over safe ground or not

Since part of the Red Room Takeover’s rewards are a staggering amount of XP, it ties in wonderfully with a new system we have introduced: the Champion System. Currently, when Heroes reach the level cap of 50, XP becomes obsolete since there are no more Skills to unlock. The Champion System solves this by allowing level 50 characters to continue earning XP to level up their Champion Levels. With each Champion Level, comes a Champion Skill Point, which can be used to unlock a new set of skills to further improve your character’s combat prowess.

Marvel's Avengers - Red Room

Champion Skills are on their own separate page of the UI and include boosts to Heroic Charge Rate, Melee Damage, Critical Chance, and much more. They are permanent boosts and do stack, which means unlocking skills in the entire tree will greatly increase each stat. There are a total of 372 Champion Levels, which means it’s time to grind and choose who your main is going to be. You will not be able to respec your Champion Skills yet, so for the time being, please choose carefully how you want to power up your hero.

We’re excited to see all your heroes continue to power up in preparation for some of the toughest content we will be introducing later this year. We have so much more down the road including Patrol Mode and of course, the War for Wakanda expansion. Enjoy the Red Room Takeover – if you can survive…

Xbox Live
Xbox Play Anywhere

Marvel's Avengers Definitive Edition

Crystal Dynamics

Assemble your team of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, embrace your powers, and live your Super Hero dreams. Marvel’s Avengers is an epic, third-person, action-adventure game that combines an original, cinematic story with single-player and co-operative gameplay*. Assemble into a team of up to four players online, master extraordinary abilities, customize an expansive roster of Heroes, and defend the Earth from escalating threats. Marvel’s Avengers begins at A-Day, where Captain America, Iron Man, the Hulk, Black Widow, and Thor are unveiling a new, hi-tech Avengers Headquarters in San Francisco. The celebration turns deadly when a mysterious enemy causes a catastrophic accident which results in massive devastation. Blamed for the tragedy, the Avengers disband. Five years later, with all Super Heroes outlawed and the world in peril, a sprawling adventure ignites when a determined young woman named Kamala Khan sets out to reassemble and rebuild the Avengers to stop the unchecked power of the secretive new force known as AIM. Marvel's Avengers delivers the definitive Avengers gaming experience with an adventure that sends out heroes from space, to the hidden kingdom of Wakanda, or an apolcalyptic alternative future. Assemble a roster of 11 unique heroes and restore their powers; then continue to battle AIM solo or online with friends. Unlock powerful skills and new gear for each of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes to suit your playstyle. Flexible combat system, dynamically scaling difficulty, plus customizable gear and skills to support unique playstyles for each Hero. The Definitive Edition includes over 400 classic, fan-favorite, and all-new original outfits inspired by over 80 years of Marvel history to customize these iconic Heroes. The Definitive Edition includes all released DLC missions and heroes. *Online access required for multiplayer.