Marvel's Avengers - War for Wakanda

War for Wakanda Expansion for Marvel’s Avengers is Available Now for Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S


  • The free War for Wakanda expansion is available now for Marvel’s Avengers.
  • Play as Black Panter and battle Ulysses Klaue and his army of mercenaries and machines.
  • There’s never been a better time to jump into Marvel’s Avengers.

The War for Wakanda expansion is our biggest content update to Marvel’s Avengers so far, and it’s available today for Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S! We’ve packed so much new, free content into the expansion for players who already have the game, but today we want to chat specifically about War for Wakanda’s challenging new enemy types, and of course, our new playable hero: Black Panther!

When creating Black Panther, we started by reflecting on what is core and iconic to the character to inform how we would bring him to life on screen. The idea of T’Challa as an apex jungle predator is what led us to his Pounce mechanic, his ability that makes him feel distinct from the other heroes on our roster. Pounce lets him lunge at enemies, grappling them to the ground. When upgraded, Pounce works on bigger enemies as well, like Exos or Dreadbots.

Marvel's Avengers - War for Wakanda

T’Challa’s Intrinsic Meter is another mechanic that honors the history of the character. Successful blocks and parries stockpile kinetic energy in your suit – building your Intrinsic Meter – which you can release in a Percussive Blast that knocks away nearby enemies and grants you a damage buff.

Finally, Black Panther’s Assault Heroic ability is called Bast’s Chosen, which leans into the character’s spiritual side. When activated, Bast’s Chosen summons a specter of the panther Goddess Bast, temporarily granting T’Challa her power. Its base form lets you unleash supercharged attacks without emptying your Intrinsic Meter, but when upgraded, it allows you to summon warriors from the ancestral plane to fight alongside you.

Marvel's Avengers - War for Wakanda

Ulysses Klaue has an army of mercenaries and machines in his employ, so you’ll need to utilize all these abilities to take down the new enemy types we’re introducing to War for Wakanda.

When designing new enemies for the expansion, we wanted to set the goal of making enemies that had less overlap in their combat roles, and less overlap in how you take them down. In the content we’ve released to-date, enemy encounters typically turn into one-to-one brawls, and fighting an Adaptoid can often feel the same as fighting a lesser AIM grunt.

Marvel's Avengers - War for Wakanda

In the War for Wakanda expansion, however, we’ve introduced mechanized Scout Crawlers that attack you in swarms, placing a heavier emphasis on area-of-effect damage than before. We’ve also added enemies clad in Vibranium armor as well as enemies armed with sonic-powered weapons. You won’t be able to take them down like the enemies you’ve fought to date, but we’ll let you figure out the best strategies for defeating them yourselves.

There’s never been a better time to jump into Marvel’s Avengers. The free War for Wakanda Expansion adds to a game already packed with content including tons of single-player story content across several campaigns, nine playable Heroes, and endless multiplayer co-op action for up to four players. In addition, new modes and events are introduced regularly, and dozens of outfits inspired by Marvel comics and movies are available for players in our Marketplace.

Marvel's Avengers - War for Wakanda

The War for Wakanda Expansion is available now for Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S and is available at no added cost to owners of Marvel’s Avengers!

Xbox Live
Xbox Play Anywhere

Marvel's Avengers Definitive Edition

Crystal Dynamics

Assemble your team of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, embrace your powers, and live your Super Hero dreams. Marvel’s Avengers is an epic, third-person, action-adventure game that combines an original, cinematic story with single-player and co-operative gameplay*. Assemble into a team of up to four players online, master extraordinary abilities, customize an expansive roster of Heroes, and defend the Earth from escalating threats. Marvel’s Avengers begins at A-Day, where Captain America, Iron Man, the Hulk, Black Widow, and Thor are unveiling a new, hi-tech Avengers Headquarters in San Francisco. The celebration turns deadly when a mysterious enemy causes a catastrophic accident which results in massive devastation. Blamed for the tragedy, the Avengers disband. Five years later, with all Super Heroes outlawed and the world in peril, a sprawling adventure ignites when a determined young woman named Kamala Khan sets out to reassemble and rebuild the Avengers to stop the unchecked power of the secretive new force known as AIM. Marvel's Avengers delivers the definitive Avengers gaming experience with an adventure that sends out heroes from space, to the hidden kingdom of Wakanda, or an apolcalyptic alternative future. Assemble a roster of 11 unique heroes and restore their powers; then continue to battle AIM solo or online with friends. Unlock powerful skills and new gear for each of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes to suit your playstyle. Flexible combat system, dynamically scaling difficulty, plus customizable gear and skills to support unique playstyles for each Hero. The Definitive Edition includes over 400 classic, fan-favorite, and all-new original outfits inspired by over 80 years of Marvel history to customize these iconic Heroes. The Definitive Edition includes all released DLC missions and heroes. *Online access required for multiplayer.